(919) 414-6440 | (919) 302-7536
(919) 414-6440 | (919) 302-7536 or Reserve Online →


HomeAway Property
Read or Write Reviews

"A perfect mountain retreat choice!"

Rating: 5 out of 5
Review Submitted: Nov 17, 2017  |  Date of Stay: November 2017

Pictures say alot but being there confirms it. LLL is the ideal family or couples retreat. Roomy, pristine inside and out, and fully stocked to accommodate your every need be it a coffee on the screened-in porch, or a peaceful rocking chair on the deck while listening to the constant stream just feet away. I walked the property to get my exercise without worry of falling off a steep precipice. We enjoyed the fire pit immensely but overlooked the weenie/marshmallow roaster sticks in the utility room until we were packing up. That's how equipped this place is - coffee pot, filters, you name it. We contributed just a few items to the "if you need" items in the kitchen pantry. And the welcome basket was a complete surprise. The cooks in our group were full of praise for the thoughtful owners. Barb and Brian have thought of EVERYthing a group needs to avoid last minute drives down the mountain for what you may need. Even Benedryl was helpful to one guest that was stung on the foot. The drive up to LLL is a bit daunting for those with height fears but once you arrive, the property is nothing but peaceful, calm and soothing to your soul. We hope to be back again next year!

Thank you Brian and Barb for all your prompt and helpful messages during the planning stages of our trip to Linger Lake Lodge. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday!

Virginia B.

Owner's Response

Hi Ginger - Thank you for your kind words. It sounds like you and your guests had an enjoyable stay. Our family will be spending Thanksgiving at LLL and everyone is so excited. I hope you and your family have a wonderful holiday and it would be great to see you back again in the future. Brian & Barb

"Perfect Fall Getaway"

Rating: 5 out of 5
Review Submitted: Nov 1, 2017  |  Date of Stay: October 2017

We recently stayed at this property with two other families and there was plenty of room. The property has open fields, a stream that runs through it, Apple trees, a fire pit and so much more. The kids enjoyed the cool weather outside and we did a campfire s’mores night one night.

The property is very clean. I was especially happy that the bathrooms were spotless and new. We lost power one night but luckily, there was a generator on site and the owners were very helpful responding and helping us.

Overall this was a wonderful stay. One other side note, the driveway was easy to access. We have stayed at other properties where the driveway was very steep and hard to get to should it snow. That shouldn’t be a concern here.

Cynthia T.

Owner's Response

Hi Cynthia, We are glad you and your guests enjoyed your stay at our NC mountain house. The property does allow kids ample room to play and explore. I'm also glad the generator came in handy the one night during your stay. We hope to see you back sometime in the future. You were great guests! Brian & Barb Meckes

"Awesome Family Weekend"

Rating: 5 out of 5
Review Submitted: Aug 28, 2017  |  Date of Stay: August 2017

We had such a great time here. Even if you never left the property, you would still have plenty to do! We enjoyed fishing, sitting on the porch, picking apples, building a campfire, and drove 30 min down to downtown Black Mountain for some shopping. The house had everything we needed and more, and was very comfortable for our family. It was also very clean and inviting.

Lauren E.

Owner's Response

Hi Lauren, We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you made the most out your time during your visit. Barb and I hope to see you again sometime when you want to relax in the NC mountains. Brian & Barb Meckes

"The best family vacation we have ever had!"

Rating: 5 out of 5
Review Submitted: Aug 8, 2017  |  Date of Stay: July 2017

Every year my family of four and my husbands side of the family vacation together for a week. It is quite the task to find a house and property that meets everyone's needs. Well, I nailed it this year with Linger Lake Lodge! We had 5 adults, 2 teenage boys and 2 ten year old boys. The house easily accommodated our party of nine. The house was roomy enough for each person to have their own space. The open floor plan in the main living area was the perfect setting for family game night. The house was very clean (and I am a bit of a clean freak), modern, and fully stocked. Looking back I don't think there was one thing that we needed that the house didn't have.

The biggest hit with the men and boys on the trip was the stocked fishing pond. From sunrise to sunset, every free minute was spent fishing. We also enjoyed the large front porch with rocking chairs that overlooked the pond. The pond is close enough to the house for the adults to catch up with one another while keeping an eye on the children fishing.

We also enjoyed exploring the surrounding areas in this part of the NC mountains. It is so beautiful! We went to Chimney Rock State Park and made it to the top, then hiked to Hickory Nut Falls. Wow! So cool to be at the bottom of the 400 ft falls. We rented a pontoon boat and spent the day at Lake Lure. We also went horseback riding. Everything was perfect. I can not say enough about our trip to Linger Lake Lodge.

Fantastic vacation! Oh, and I can't forget to mention how responsive and timely Brian, the owner was to our questions. Thanks Brian for sharing your home with us!!

Amy J.

Owner's Response

Hello Amy- Barb and I are so happy you and your family enjoyed your stay at our home. We take pride in doing our best to accommodate the needs for our guests. Your description of the house and property are all the reasons we decided to become owners of Linger Lake Lodge. Please visit us again sometime. I'm sure the fish will be biting! Warm regards- Brian & Barb Meckes

"Hidden gem in North Carolina"

Rating: 5 out of 5
Review Submitted: Aug 1, 2017  |  Date of Stay: July 2017

Perfect location for a relaxing time in North Carolina. The cabin is ideally located with a private fishing pond that my grandsons absolutely loved as it is well stocked and they caught plenty of fish. The cabin is very comfortable and has every appliance you could possibly need during your stay. I would highly recommend Linger Lodge cabin and look forward to returning sometime in the future.

Mark C.

Owner's Response

Hi Mark- Barb and I are glad your family and guests enjoyed yourself at our house and property. Sounds like the fish were biting so that makes it that more exciting for the kids. Please consider staying with us again in the future. We would love to have you back sometime. Brian & Barb

"A lovely mountain retreat and so much more ..."

Rating: 5 out of 5
Review Submitted: May 6, 2017  |  Date of Stay: March 2017

Linger Lake Lodge was the perfect setting for our family vacation. The home is spacious, well-appointed and comfortable. The property is breathtaking. We enjoyed fishing, hiking, and just relaxing on the porch. The home is close enough to Asheville and Chimney Rock that we were able to enjoy some of the attractions there as well. Barb and Brian are exceptional! They were very responsive to all of our questions and requests, and took the time to check in with us to make sure our needs were met. Linger Lake Lodge certainly exceeded our expectations in every way!

Nancy F.

Owner's Response

Nancy- We are glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at our house. I am glad there was some fish to be caught to make the fisherman happy during his stay as well! It would be great to see you back sometime. Warm regards - Brian & Barb

"Perfect Getaway"

Rating: 5 out of 5
Review Submitted: July 23, 2011  |  Date of Stay: July 2011

My family recently vacationed at Linger Lake Lodge. There were eleven of us, eight adults and three kids. We had a wonderful time. The lodge was immaculate and very inviting. The weather was perfect and so was the property. The photos really do no justice. The creek had to be my favorite part. My father enjoyed the pond most of all. The kids liked the swing and my mother the apple trees. John was a wonderful person to do business with and wanted to be certain we enjoyed ourselves. This is the ideal place to stay and I’ll certainly be going back. If you are contemplating staying here, then think no longer. There really is nowhere better.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children

April, Whiteville, North Carolina

Owner's Response


It was a pleasure having you and your family as our guest and we are very happy you had a great time and enjoyed our Western NC Mountains and the many things it has to offer. Thank you and everyone for taking such good care of our home…you are welcome back anytime.

John & Dianne

"Exquisite, Roomy, Plenty to do right on the property, and WORTH MORE THAN IT COSTS!!"

Rating: 5 out of 5
Review Submitted: July 16, 2011  |  Date of Stay: June 2011

We just finished enjoying a week here with our family including three generations. The children enjoyed the loft, the kitchen was wonderfully supplied with all the equipment we needed to cook (we ate 19 out of 20 meals here!) for the whole crowd and we barely left the property, there was plenty to entertain us, and lots of places to relax.

There were some amenities, details and luxuries we would not have expected in a vacation rental, especially of this price:

  1. Professional stove with two oven chambers, I’m getting one of these when I win the lottery!
  2. Leather furniture and LUXURIOUS details in decorations, lighting, etc.
  3. SO MUCH ROOM! Wow!
  4. Swing over the creek for the children, fire circle (with lots of cut wood supplied) and a view of the property from the porch that let the mommies sit and relax while the children played
  5. Great mattresses, sheets and lots of huge fluffy towels
  6. Washer and dryer next to the kitchen in the mud room, so a long stay was very comfortable, especially with all the muddy clothes from playing in the creek!
  7. Fishing! We caught so many fish, and some of the men spent the majority of the days fishing with the children. We’d get back from an outing, and they’d be out there in a matter of minutes.
  8. The grill is actually a smoker/grill combo that is large and uses charcoal. We used it several days.
  9. Extras around the house, like extra nice folding chairs and extra tables tucked away in closets in case we needed them.
  10. Surround sound

I had arranged this vacation and was nervous about how everyone would like how I had spent their money. EVERYONE WAS PLEASED and impressed, and thought this property was so worth the money and perfect! It was quiet and peaceful, with lots of room for everyone. The owner was very kind and helpful throughout our stay, available by phone the couple of times we had a question, helping us find bait and giving recommendations about the surrounding area.

Bottom line: We’d stay here again in a heartbeat, and if the week you would like to book is available, I’d tell you to snatch it up!

Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway

Adina and Jeremy CA, KY, PA, AL

Owner's Response

Adina and Jeremy,

Thank both of you for your kind review. We are glad that your families had a wonderful time and enjoyed your vacation. You are welcome back anytime.

John & Dianne

"A great hidaway!"

We took the whole family for a week to this house. It was wonderful. The view from the wrap around porch was beautiful. The family enjoyed fishing and hiking. Perfect in everyway. The house was unbelieveable. The owner was helpful and freindly.

Anonymous, Louisville KY

"A most enjoyable experience!"

To begin with,the house itself is in excellent condition having been recently renovated. The furniture, the amenities (dishes, supplies, linen, etc.) met or exceeded our expectations. Most importantly, all beds were comfortable.

The lot and location of the Lodge definitely add up to privacy. Admittedly as Florida “flatlanders”, our first trip up Shumont Road was an experience, but by the third or fourth run, we were all old hands. But,steep and winding Roads in North Carolina are not unusual.

Enjoying hiking and photography, we always had plenty to do. Chimney Rock Park is practically around the corner. We spent two days photographing waterfalls, and we ran out of energy before we ran out of waterfalls. Several in our group were into shopping, and enjoyed trips to Hendersonville, Black Mountain, and Asheville. The readers in our group were most satisfied by the large sunny porches and rocking chairs as well as the additional screened porch. Some were just there to relax, and that they did.

Bottom line, I would highly recommend this property.

Dick Daytona Beach, FL

"Summer Trip to Linger Lake"

We joined another couple with their one year old and our two year old for a relaxing weeklong vacation to this fantastic property. We have rented houses all over the United States and in Europe and found this to be one of the best appointed and most enjoyable properties we have stayed. The house is beautiful and well thought out. It felt palacial even though there were 6 of us. It was extremely clean too. We spent much of our time on the expansive deck and screened in porch listening to the frogs, watching hummingbirds and enjoying the view of the lake. John and Dianne were the most accomodating owners we have had the pleasure of working with. They were extremely interested in our comfort and were immediatly available if we had questions about the house or about the area.

My friend and I rented bikes in Ashville and biked the area and loved it. We even endeavored to bike up Shumont Rd to the cabin. The slowest two miles I have ever traversed on a bike. The downhill was a blast. We will definatly be coming back in the near future.

James D Ferguson Madison

"What a special Place!"

Our group of 11 stayed in this beautiful home for 3 nights. We wish we could have stayed for a week! This home has so much space – we never felt uncomfortable. Though we wanted to see the “sights” around Chimney Rock, Lake Lure and the Biltmore – we REALLY wanted to just relax on the porch or by the pond! It was very pretty. We grilled out two of the nights and had a campfire on the third. What a perfect place!

Kathy Orlando, FL


First, this is not the normal rental property, it is a home away from home. The furnishings are exquisite. The internet description of the home is just a small taste of a huge delight. From the first moment we secured our week every step thereafter was a piece of cake. The views of the property from the porches are breathtaking. We observed deer feeding on the fallen apples in person and on the night vision camera we took. The songs of the frogs, birds, and other aninals mixed with the flowing stream will ring in our memories for a long time. Our grandsons loved the waterfall; however, their favorite at-home activity was fishing, and boy did they fish. We want to thank you for sharing your home and are already making plans to return next year. Loved every minute.

Anonymous, Columbia South Carolina

"Family Vacation"

I can’t say enough about our stay! We all enjoyed fishing in the pond, hiking to the waterfalls, and the peace and quiet. The house is well maintained and clean. There were 4 adults and 2 kids but we never felt crowded. Returning to the front porch of the cabin in the evenings after a day of sight seeing was so relaxing. We will definitely refer our friends and family. The exceptional rates are a great value and we can’t wait to return during the winter months to see the snow.

Anonymous, Tampa Bay FL

"Perfect Visit!"

What a wonderful time we all had at your place! It is a beautiful spot to get away from it all. I could enjoy the porches for an entire week and be totally satisfied. It was perfect for us to catch up with each other on our "Girls' Trip!" The inside is fabulous – every room is perfect! You have put a lot of thought into the details and it shows. We will definately be back!

Thank you for all of your help – you made everything perfect!

Anonymous, Savannah Georgia

"Rate this place a double positive!"

From the fishing to the camp fire at night to the peace and quite at night, its a pure slice of heaven. Close to chimney rock and all the hiking you can handle. Owners are very nice and willing to accomidate your every need.

Hate to let you in on OUR little secret but its just to good to keep to ourselfs. This was our second time back, and I’m sure we will return again and again!! Rate this place a double positive!!!

Anonymous, Aiken SC

"Highly Recommended"

Our family of four adults stayed the week of August 12, 2006, and had a great time. The cabin is just a few years old, extremely clean, attractive, and very well appointed. We enjoyed using the kitchen and it was very handy having a washer/dryer. Great porch with chairs and a covered area with a dining table. Very picturesque setting. Millions of stars at night. Sounds of the country–frogs, cicadas, etc. Apple trees, deer. Lots of windows to let in the cool mountain breezes. Highly recommended.

Anonymous, Fort Myers FL

"Fantastic Spot"

Fantastic spot. Quiet, easy to get to. Lots of day trips within reasonable distance. We had a welcome basket from our hosts, and beautiful property with a creek, waterfall, and pristine lake right out the front window. At night deer came in to feed on the apples in the back yard. We even had a bonfire one night!! The cabin has all the amenities, including, satellite TV!! We were relaxed and had a wonderful time. We’ll definitely be back.

Deb and Rick, FL

More Information

If you need information about any of our services, please feel free to use our contact form, send us an e-mail to info@lakelurevacationrental.com, or give us a call at (919) 414-6440 | (919) 302-7536.